There’s No Crying In Writing

this is an excerpt from The Art of War For Writers by James Scott Bell

Every moment spent whining about your writing career is a moment of creative energy lost.

Christina Katz, author of Get Known Before the Book Deal, suggests writers sign a statement that includes:

(and here’s mine)

I, Victor Powell, aka BookWorm, being of sound mind and body,

do solemnly commit to keep my grousing to myself for the period

of one year.  This stuffing of a sock into my mouth includes, but is

not limited to, whining about all matters related to the writing and

the publication of my work. I will not grumble, I will not cry,

I will not moan, I will not whine, I will not complain,

I will not stick my head in the stand, I will not say woe is me.

So help me God.

Instead, I will turn my whining into energy for writing.

BW.

2 Comments

Filed under BookWorm On Writing

2 responses to “There’s No Crying In Writing

  1. True. Speaking of which, have you read Stephen King’s “On Writing: A memoir of the craft”? Great book for aspiring writers, imo.

  2. Thanks for the comment! Yes 🙂 In fact, I’ve just wrote several posts on my reflections while reading it–how much it has challanged me.

Leave a Reply

