I Want To Be A Vor

Miles Vorkosigan Saga

Sometimes I hate reading…

Especially when it’s a book that shares a similar theme as the one I’m writing.

“What’s so special about your book?”

“What’s different, that hasn’t been done before?”

See, it’s questions like those that cause unrest.

A year ago I was so confident that I had the next great scifi masterpiece.

The heir to Dune, Star Wars, and the Foundation Series, I thought to myself.

heh…I hear you laughing…go ahead and laugh…punks.

So, in the infinite wisdom of all the advice of literary agents, editors, and already publushed authors, I decided to read all those books in my genre that I missed.

One of the was the Miles Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMasters Bujold.

Napolean in Space, with a lot of energy, except, he’s the good guy.  That’s my description by the way.

Somehow with all the reading of the Star Wars and Star Trek novels, I seemed to have missed all the good stuff.

Not that the Star Wars and Star Trek novels aren’t good.

But we’re talking about a Hugo Award winner, multiple times already!

Sometimes you just got to put the Wookies down.

I loved reading about Miles Vorkosigan, short crippled genius, that doesn’t understand the word, NO and shares my tastes in women.  And he’s one helluva military strategist…or just lucky.

You figure it out.

Check out the series, you’ll like it.

Just don’t tell your parents about the Orb of Unearthly Delights.

What’s a Vor? You’ll have to come back to find out.

BW.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookWorm On Writing, Devoured Books

Leave a Reply

