You Might Be A Bookworm

The weekend was good for me. I hope it was great for you.  I celebrated the birthday of my two year old nephew.

Hi NYE!

In addition to my nephew’s birtday, I saw the makings of another bookworm.

What makes a bookworm?

cracks knuckles and stretches, lemme tell ya…
  1. If you would rather read than go outside and play.
  2. When your parents tells you go to your room and you shrug because that’s where you wanna be…to finish reading your book.
  3. If you can finish a 300 paperback page book in one day to three days.
  4. If you’re tired in the morning because you stayed up all night reading.
  5. Every where you go you have a book or books.
  6. In school, you read the school text books because you were bored.
  7. The bookstore is akin to a candy store
  8. If a fun scavenger hunt is finding hole in the wall bookstores.
  9. You’re addicted to the smell of books.
  10. You talk about your favorite authors by their first names.
  11. You rather read the book than go see the movie.
  12. You’ve read nearly all the books of your favorite genre in the school library when you were a kid
  13. The local bookstore employees know you by your first name.
  14. If your spouse or significant other has banned you from the bookstore or Amazon.com for purchasing books.
  15. When you go to sleep at night you dream about the characters in the book you’re reading.
  16. If have poor eyesight because you would read at night with hardly any light.
  17. If you read pamphlets while waiting for an appointment.
  18. If you read the back of the cereal box while eating breakfast.
  19. If books aren’t just something to play with, but an fetish.
  20. If curling with with a good book and tea is the high life.
  21. Your imaginary friends (as a kid) are all characters from books
  22. If you bring more than one book with you because you don’t know what book you might be in the mood for.

Ugg…is there more?  No doubt…

Have more?  Tell me!!

::points to the comment section::

alright…I gotta go…

need to  finish Variable Star

Robert Heinlein

&

Spider Robinson.

BW.

8 Comments

Filed under BookWorm On Writing, Devoured Books

8 responses to “You Might Be A Bookworm

  1. Haha this is a great post, it is rather sad/amusing how many I can match up with. May have to steal this post concept 🙂

  2. D.M. Mitchell

    I definitely fit this criteria — # 12) I read all the books in the school library as a kid ( not just my favorite genre)

    To be a Writer, yes you have to write (obviously) but you have to read too!

    I saw your post on Emerging Writers Network and wanted to stop by and check out your blog.

    (Something about the bookworm title tickled my fancy right off the bat!)

    I am an “Emerging” web writer though I have been working as a Freelance Writer since ’05.

    I look forward to reading your posts in the future!

    D.M. Mitchell
    Destined to be Published

  3. Gosh, almost all the points you made hold true for me. Oh well, I have made my peace with the nickname of bookworm a long time ago. 🙂

    I have had #15 in your list happen to me, especially when I went to bed in the middle of crime scene. Ack!!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog! Yeah, I was reading Harry Turtledove’s World at War Series where 3 ft-sized lizards invaded the Earth in the middle of WW2, and I would dream of child-sized lizards with guns running around all over hte place.

    remember, tell your friends, being a bookworm is not just a job, but an adventure!

    V.

  5. D.M,

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Absolutely you have to read too! Stephen King says there are two things a writer must do, read a lot and write a lot. We aim to do both!

    I liked your set up and your purpose. It’s my goal as well to encourage writers to pursue their goals. Dreams. I’m planning on launching what I call “The Dreamers Union” a network of dreamers, people who want to pursue a life of fulfillment and purpose. Maybe we can work together eh?

    Lemme know.

    V.

  6. Hi Jessica!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    No worries, just remember, it’s us bookworms that really move the world. By all means go and do likewise, as you saw, something you said help me write this post.

    Look forward to reading more and hope you stick around.

    V.

  7. Eva

    Hmm there’s a particular 2nd hand bookstore in town. It’s been there for ages and my mother first brought me there when I was 2 and HATED books. I absolutely despised reading. But obviously, it all changed and as I grew up, I started visiting AT least once a week.

    Now, I visit about once a month and leave with a dozen books or so. The owner and the people working there have literally, watched me grow up and after 16 years, know me so well that whenever I step in, I don’t even have to browse. They just bring me around the store and pull out books that I will definitely enjoy.

    Definitely a bookworm.

    ❤ Eva

  8. Hi Eva!
    Hi Eva!

    Thanks for the comment.

    Aye, that’s so cool you have a bookstore that knows your name when you walk in. I’ve moved so many times since my childhood that it usually takes me a few years to find a decent bookstore that I like to go to. The smell of old or used books has its own unique scent that always makes me feel like…home.

    Keep Reading!

    V.

Leave a Reply

