One Proven Way To Ruin A Good Book

Have you ever got wrapped up in a story and grew impatient with the movement of events?

sometimes books can be that way…

Have you ever grew so attached to the character that whenever any other character appeared you skipped ahead to the section where your guy comes back?

do this and you miss all the good juicy bits…

How many of you have seen Starship Troopers, the movie , and not read the book

and think it’s the same story?

come on…I know you people are out there…hey! I see you in the back!

Yeah…these are only a few ways to ruin a good story but I’ll give a sure fire way to make you put that book down.

READ THE NOVEL’S WIKI WEBSITE WHILE READING SAID NOVEL

Yup, I did it and it ruined an entire series for me.

A couple of months ago I was reading the Wheel of Time Series and being who I am, I start in the chronological order.

I started with New Spring, which is a prequel to the actually Wheel of Time.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story.

As I should, I grew attached to the protagonists and when I was done…

I had an Obscene Obsessive Curiosity to know more about the hero.

That’s good right?  Yeah, I thought so too.

So, as I started the first book, The Eye of the World, I started not liking what I was reading about the hero.

My obscene obsessive curiosity struck with a vengeance.

I thought I’d just peek at the wiki.

don’t say it…I know...

I ended up reading the whole thing and grew even more dispondent towards the series.

shame, shame, shame, shame, shame…

BW.

Like what you’ve read? Leave a comment.  What more? Subscribe  Please don’t forget to take the “What Men Read” Poll!!

2 Comments

Filed under BookWorm on Books, Musing of BW

2 responses to “One Proven Way To Ruin A Good Book

  1. C

    Me again! I’m finding your blog addictive! Which is funny because I don’t normally read blogs…

    Anyway! I just wanted to share something that relates to this blog. I too have ruined a good book/series. It was actually rather surprising to me the way it happened. I wasn’t expecting it…

    I was reading book two of George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series. I decided to go to his website and see when book five was coming out; I already owned three and four. When I was at his site I saw that he had a chapter up for the next book. I spoiled myself with details. The author’s website was the last place I expected to find spoilers about the series! You would think the chapter shared would be harmless but teasing to catch your interest. Not spoil you out right…

  2. Yeah, writers are weird people…you’da thunk that he would keep less to make you actually READ the book.

    ::shakes head::

Leave a Reply

