5 Reasons Why I Should Go Fishing

I can’t stand the smell of fish.  
 
I can’t stand the taste of fish.  
 
I don’t eat anything that even LOOKS like a fish. 
 
But I think I need to take up fishing.

Why?

1. I Need More Lessons In Patience.

Just dipping my fishing pole in the water with spray bait isn’t gonna make fish attach themselves to my hooks.  In addition, it’ll cure me of “I want it now” attitude that’s showing it’s ugly head lately.  Another lession in Patience is required.

  2. Being Near Water Is Relaxing

I don’t know what it is…but there is something about being by a large body of water, hearing the movement and nature around it–soothing.

3. Equal Opportunity Bonding.

With all there is in the universe to distract a person today, going on a boat or sitting on a dock and fishing with a friend is awesome.  Unless you wanna spend the whole time in silence–being a jerk–you get to actually know the other person you’re with.   And it’s healthy.

–> insider secret…for all you women out there…this is what really goes on when men go fishing…we bond.

4. Reinforces Discipline.

This goes with #1 patience.  To actually catch a fish and refrain from moving your pole around takes discipline to keep in one spot.

5. Everybody’s Doing It.

Sometimes it seems I’m the only one where I live that’s not fishing.  

Honestly…I’m starting feel left out here…

BW.

Like what you’ve read? Leave a comment.  What more? Subscribe  Please don’t forget to take the “What Men Read” Poll!!
6 Comments

Filed under BookWorm On Writing, Musing of BW

6 responses to “5 Reasons Why I Should Go Fishing

  1. D.M. Mitchell

    B.W.,
    I enjoy Fishing every once in a while, whether I catch anything or not! ( I’m like you, I find fish to be repulsive!)
    My Father always told me that Fishing was a test in patience, but I like to think of it as a lesson in LIFE as well.
    Have you ever read Ernest Hemingway’s novel “The Old Man and the Sea” ? If you haven’t read it yet, I suggest you do! (and maybe write a blog post on it :)I learned so much from the novel, about LIFE/Patience/Persistence/Goals.

    I can think of dozens of ways that fishing can relate to writing – How many can you think of?

    D.M. Mitchell
    Destined to be Published

  2. DM,

    Thanks for the comment!! And the recommendation ofthe book, I’ll have to add it to my must read list.

    Yes, heh, there are several ways that fishing relates to writing…perhaps some are post worthy….chief among them could be: A fisherman is someone who fishes…akin to a writer writes; and if you don’t succeed the first time…try try and try again, akin to don’t quit if the first book doesn’t sell.

    surely there are others.

  3. D.M. Mitchell

    B.W.,
    … I’m back again!
    One thing that Writer’s must learn to live with is rejection. Someone somewhere wants to read what you have written, but it doesn’t mean that you won’t face rejection a half dozen times first.
    Thanks for the response to my comment.
    I was thinking along the same lines as you
    ( great minds think alike).

    D.M. Mitchell
    Destined to be Published

  4. Oh yes…Rejection…

    The sharp pain that turns into hardened motivation to keep going.

    Sometimes I wish I could skip that part of the growing process. 🙂

    And great minds do think alike and they band together to accomplish great things!

    BW.

  5. I love this post. Also, the Dune one. You’re saying what needs to be said in an accessible way.

  6. Thanks for the comment!!

    Yeah, that’s what I’m trying to do. Not just saying what already has been said, but say in a more pratical way.

Leave a Reply

