What If Chamberlain Said NO to Hitler?

On Monday, I final devoured the last morsel of Harry Turtledove’s Hitler’s War.  Now, four days later, it’s like eating Chinese food.  I hardly remember what I read and it’s as if I’ve never picked up the book.

I hate to say this about Harry Turtledove because I’m a huge fan of his and after six years, I still sometimes see child-size lizards running around with guns after reading his Alternate History of the Second World War Series.

What if Neville Chamberlain didn’t appease Hitler with Czechoslovakia and Hitler started WW2 with the invasion of the Sudetenland?

I’ve been in that region and it’s spectacular–if I say so myself.

What if Poland joined the war on the side of the Nazis? 

What if Japan focused their attacked Siberia? 

What if Franco never became the leader of Spain?

See why I was so interested in this book?

All the what if’s were cool, but Harry Turtledove didn’t execute the plot very well.

There’s a few lessons here:

1. Even a big name author with lots of award-winning books flop.

2. Don’t get too comfortable because your next book may suck.

3. A good premise line does nothing without a well-developed plot.

4. Even if you do flop–because of previous success–fans are forgiving.

Truth be told, I’ll probably buy the next in the series, just to see what course the alternate history will take–and because it’s Harry Turtledove. 

Would I recommend it?

If you’re a history buff like me–especially in WW2–the premise line alone you should by this book, but be prepared for a weak plot.

I just hope the next one is better than this one. 

Now, here’s a story that I really want to read:  “The Last Article”. An alternate-history piece, where the Germans won WWII and took control of India from the British.

Keep Writing!

BW.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookWorm on Books, Devoured Books

Leave a Reply

