It Takes A Village To Write Your Book

I once thought writing a book is a solitary act between my keyboard and me.

I needed to shut out the world and hole up in a room pecking away at with whatever music soothes the Muse– pausing for bathroom breaks or another pack of gum.

Nothing is further from the truth.

No one writes a book by himself or herself…

I mean you can, there is no rule against it, but why would you?

In times of self-doubt; or depression, because you cannot see the scene clearly or the plot and character development is not working out properly…

What do you do?

Where do you go?

To whom do you turn?

It takes a village to write your book.   Your friends, support network, or whatever community you rely upon helps in the writing process.

When you need an encouraging word to keep going and say, “You can do it!”

Who does that for you?

When you need a critical eye–someone to tell you the truth–for better or for worse…

Who does that for you?

When you need someone to kick you in the butt and say, “GET BACK TO WORK!”

Who does that for you?

Those emails, tweets, texts, IMs, and phone calls that ask, ‘Hey, how’s it going?’ are important.

Even if you are having a bad day–just knowing there is a cheering section rooting for your success can serve to comfort you or give you the motivation to get up, dust yourself off, and get back in the game.

You can say, “Hey, I’m alive, I have ideas, and I have a book to write– for the very least of reasons, I have people counting on me.”

So…I ask you

Hey, how’s it going?

How’s that {insert your project} going?

Remember, you do not have to write alone…use your village.

Keep writing,

BW

Leave a comment

Filed under BookWorm On Writing

Leave a Reply

